Print this page

NBIC Young Investigator Award 2011

During the NBIC Conference on April 19 and 20, NBIC will present the NBIC Young Investigator Award 2011. The winner will be awarded with a cash prize of 2.500 Euro funded by NBIC BioRange and BioWise programmes. The award ceremony is planned on Day 2 of the NBIC Conference (April 20th, 2011) and will include a honorary lecture by the recipient of the award.

  • Winner of the NBIC Young Investigator Award 2011: Dr. Yang Li, University of Groningen


The candidate must have conducted his/her research primarily in a Dutch institute. The primary result on which the award will be based will be the PhD thesis written by the candidate. Therefore, the final version of the thesis of the candidate should have been submitted to the PhD committee at the candidate's university between January 1, 2010 and February 28, 2011.

Other criteria that might be considered by the award committee are: 

  • The candidate significantly contributed to the idea of the research;
  • The research of the candidate resulted in novel or improved bioinformatics methodologies;
  • The research of the candidate advanced life sciences research;
  • The candidate independently conducted the research;
  • The research resulted in a scientific publication, software application or database;
  • The work of the candidate has given broad visibility of bioinformatics in the life sciences field;
  • The candidate has otherwise significantly contributed to bioinformatics or the bioinformatics community in the Netherlands.

You will be asked to submit a short motivation letter (max 1 A4). Please justify your nomination using the above criteria.


A candidate should be nominated by his/her group leader before March 18, 2011 by filling out the submission form on the NBIC website.

Each nomination must be accompanied with:

  • Name and affiliation of candidate
  • Motivation for nomination by group leader of candidate (1 A4)
  • Curriculum Vitae of the candidate
  • A URL to the final version of the PhD thesis (preferably to the PDF of the printed version)

Award Committee

Each year the chair will leave the Award Committee after the NBIC conference and invite a new member to the committee. For 2010 the members of the committee are:

  • Prof. dr. Jaap Heringa, VU Amsterdam
  • Prof. dr. Ritsert Jansen, Groningen University
  • Prof. dr. Cisca Wijmenga, Groningen University
  • Prof. dr. Marcel Reinders, Delft University of Technology